May Favorites

 

mayfavorites.jpg

Wow, I can’t believe it’s already May! It seems like I’ve been really bad at blogging lately but time has been going by so fast. My favorites post is a little late this time around, but here’s a list of the products I really loved for the month of May.


New! Click on the blue links in the titles to be taken directly to purchase the product online or in the paragraphs for pictures of details of the terms or products mentioned.

 

1. Too Faced Primed & Poreless Skin Smoothing Face Primer, $30 USD

 

primedandporeless.jpg

With the arrival of summer, it looks like oiler skin has also arrived for me too. In May, I began searching for a new primer and burned through I few I was less than satisfied with before I found this one. I like this primer because it helps smooth out my face and it keeps my oil in check for the majority of my eight to ten hour work day.

 

2. Inglot Duraline, $11 USD (free shipping at macys.com)

inglotduraline

This product is so amazing because it completely transforms makeup that is in a powder state and makes it a liquid waterproof. Keeping up with the current theme of summer, waterproof makeup is an absolute necessity because no one wants to sweat their makeup off and standby while it slides off your face like a melting popsicle (or step out of the pool looking like something from the Grudge). I love using Duraline to turn my brown/glittery eyeshadows into eyeliner.

 

3. Kylie Cosmetics Lipkit in Exposed, $37.95 USD (with shipping)

exposed.jpg

exposedswatch.jpg

As someone who has never really been too keen on pinks, I was so happy when Kylie announced she’d be releasing a peach toned nude lipkit, and I kid you not, I have used it every day since its release. Since I’ve raved about Kylie’s lipkits on every possible occasion, I’ll keep this one short and sweet. It’s Kylie’s great lipkit formula in a shade that I really love.

 

4. MAC Pro Longwear Waterproof Brow Set in Quiet Brunette, $17 USD

quietbrunette.jpg

I’ve tried many different brow gels, and what I’ve found with them is that sometimes they can get a bit waxy. Basically, I want a brow gel that can keep my brows in check without making them look greasy or too slicked-back (after all they’re brows, not Ryan Cabrera’s hair). I apply this gel after I fill them in with my ABH Dip Brow because it not only keeps my brows in place, but adds color to help fill in any gaps as well.

 

5. L.A. Girl Pro Conceal HD Concealer in Green Corrector, $2.99 USD

lagirlproconceal.jpg

lagirlgreencorrector.jpg

In addition to oiler skin in the hotter weather, I also get some redness on my cheeks and forehead. One makeup trend that has really taken flight as of recently is color correcting, and it’s safe to say I’m totally on board with it. Some makeup skeptics make take a look at this technique and think, “that’s too much,” or “what’s the point”, but the point for me is that it really does work when done correctly (color correctly). I apply this concealer before I apply my foundation, then pat in with a damp beauty blender (or lately, a makeup brush since my dog has taken it upon himself to use my beauty blenders as his personal snacks). It really does work to camouflage the red areas and the price:quality ratio is phenomenal. Literally, it’s a phenomenon. I have tried more expensive products that claim to do the same things but none of them have lived up to this one.

 

6. Lancome Juicy Shaker in Piece of Cake, $17 USD

juicyshaker.jpg

pieceofcakeswatch

love the Juice Shakers because I feel like they’re a really cool homage to the roll on lipgloss we all used as kids in the 90’s/early 2000’s, but it’s an updated version. These little bad boys are different from normal lipgloss because they have a unique bi-phased technology; the the first phase is oil and the second is the pigment. Since the Juicy Shakers are oil based, they’re a lot less sticky than most lip glosses tend to be and they provide moisture to your lips as well. They’re a great option for a no fuss, low maintenance  kiss of color.

 

7. MAC Blush in Gingerly, $22 USD

gingerly

I love this blush for all of the normal reasons that I love MAC, great formula, longevity, and color pay off, but in addition to all of the normal reasons, this color is a great one for a subtle summer flush.

 

8.  MAC Mineralize Skinfinish in Give Me Sun, $32 USD

givemesun.jpg

While this product is technically a face powder, I use it as a bronzer. It’s the perfect shade for a contour, or for us pale girls, it’s perfect to add the appearance of a summery tan. Since it is classified as a face powder, it glides on smoothly and is mostly just straight color (so as not to take away from the highlighting products).

 

9. Lorac Eyeshadow Palette in Nude Necessities 

Having a mom who is also obsessed with makeup comes in handy because she gives me a lot of the products that she doesn’t need or have room for. Who needs makeup companies to send them products when they have their moms? (just kidding, send me free makeup please. Insert shameless self plug about how I need brands to send me stuff because makeup is expensive but I’d like to keep this up and still be able to pay rent haha). Anyway, now that that’s out of the way, I got this palette from my mom because she wasn’t too crazy about it, but I love it. The colors are great and the name of the palette really does speak for it. It includes 12 eyeshadows all in the nude brown family which range in texture from a matte, semi-matte, to metallic. This palette is great for the days you really want summery skin to be the focus of your look with a toned down eye. The whole right half of the palette also includes several great transition shades.
Thanks for reading, and if there’s any products you guys are really loving this summer I’d love to hear about them! See y’all next month!

popsicles

One thought on “May Favorites

Leave a comment